Brett
Thursday, 12. September 2002
Occurence

Nature vs. Nurture, the theory of whether a person’s personality is created by birth or by influence, has just been proven. Being the oldest of three boys I have had to experience everything first, with no heads up. I had to experience the first day of school, the first girlfriend, the first football game, and now I have experienced the first day of college. My loving parents instilled in me the values that I still have today, teaching me honesty, respect, discipline as well as empathy at a young age.

Their good intentions, however, clouded the reality of life and its many problems. Don’t get me wrong though I believe learning through experience is much better than learning through advice, and even looking back at all the advice that my parents had given me was very much true except I would have it no other way that to live through your mistakes. I later realized through TV and actual experience about just a few problems like racism, sexuality, violence, hate, depression, and the latest problem terrorism. But after 17 years of experiencing things the hard way, I have learned to overcome my diversity and help others.

Since the first day of freshman year at Monacan High School, I contemplated on what I would make of my future. Finally, I found that I had a gift for listening to people and a sense of empathy for them as well. Plus, during my years at Monacan I was trained in the art of listening and talking with people. Now I know I want to be a psychiatrist and help people with problems because even though my parents tried and help me they never truly understood and that’s what I hope too accomplish; to understand everything, not to know everything, but to understand it. I would sometimes look towards my parents for help. However, their ideas on what I should do just didn’t sound like the right means to handle my problem and this lead me to think for myself on what I wanted and what I didn’t want. If you nurture someone long enough he will keep what he was taught, but, he will still become himself, as in nature, in the end. A person’s instinct and true nature are the keys to live. One must not be hesitant on his decisions fore if he does he will only now failure. Your life is what you make of it, the only hard part is knowing what you want

Online for 7915 days
Last modified: 9/3/02, 2:53 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
December
Recent updates
Introduction On the third day
of English class we, as a class, were told to...
by BrettB (12/3/02, 3:07 PM)
shitty draft 1. Accumulate
pictures that deal with scenery with the cave. And others that...
by BrettB (10/31/02, 3:11 PM)
Two Voice Poem Guy in
Cave Guy Outside I see! I see! The shadows move....
by BrettB (9/26/02, 9:18 AM)
Test A mans life is
entangled with lessons and obstacles that we must overcome to...
by BrettB (9/24/02, 2:00 PM)
Memoir
by BrettB (9/24/02, 2:00 PM)
Two Voice Poem Do a
poem about a guy in the cave and a guy...
by BrettB (9/17/02, 3:12 PM)
Occurence Nature vs. Nurture, the
theory of whether a person’s personality is created by birth...
by BrettB (9/12/02, 11:10 AM)
A White Rose Every person
in this endless space of darkness has a presence of...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:13 AM)
Both sides of the story
You may be optimistic. You may be pessimistic. But, by...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:11 AM)
Life's Miseries What is life
if the ones you respect and admire do not even...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:08 AM)
Paralyzed Day after day, I
sit all alone. Day after day, I wait like a...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:07 AM)
That Night During that
night, my thoughts had wondered. The time had changed, and there...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:03 AM)
The Switch Once again I
am enraveled in life’s miseries, trying to make sense of...
by BrettB (9/4/02, 4:00 AM)
Test Nothing yet
by BrettB (9/3/02, 2:39 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by BrettB (9/3/02, 2:39 PM)
Test Nothing
by BrettB (9/3/02, 2:38 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by BrettB (9/3/02, 2:37 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by BrettB (9/3/02, 2:36 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher